top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethatbloodymaryguy

Wick's Bloody Mary Mixes

Updated: Apr 6, 2022


An interesting mix coming from Kansas. Born in 2020 in Lawrence, Kansas. Erin and Kurt Wickenhauser had used their own secret Bloody mary mix. Decided to start bottling the mix after seeing there was not much of a niche in their local market. In August they relocated to Wamego, Kansas. They changed the label to give an homage to their hometown. Wamego is well known for its firework show every year on the Fourth of July. In fact, it has been labeled the number one ranked firework show in Kansas. All of the action that goes into the sky is now bottled up in every bottle of "Wick's Bloody Mary mix". I know the bottle I opened and sampled was exploding with flavor. It paired nicely with our cookout.


Wick's "Tradition" Bloody Mary Mix


Trying the mix by itself (no spirits) I noticed you can see the flavors. The mix is not too thick but is thicker than it is thin. If that makes sense. When you drink it you do get all these floaty flavor bits. I know there is a love/hate relationship some people have with that. I myself do not mind it. The flavors are bold flavors of Turmeric, Black pepper, and Cayenne peppers. With hints of mustard and vinegar, with a back end of citric. I rather enjoy this mix. One of the fun things that I like to do is to hand-draw something related to the mix that I am reviewing. We were cooking out when I was reviewing and I liked the picture I took so I tried drawing that. I know I am no Picaso. But It is unique to me.


Wick's "Red Beer Blend"


To be honest I am new to "Red beers and/or Micheladas". I am a Wisconsin boy, that beer belongs on the side as a chaser. With that being said, for the last 2 years living in a southern state, Arkansas, I have developed a palate for them. Granted, I did not have any beer on me besides Miller lite and did not want to try it with that. So, I will be reserving some for a true experience. I did make a Bloody with one with vodka. The mix, for its reasons, is a blended yet thinner version of its traditional mix so it will mix your favorite lager.



UPDATE ON THIS.

I left Arkansas and checked out a liquor store in Missouri. Now don't get carried away it was 20 minutes from my house. But I did find some Wisconsin-made, Chippewa Falls brews Leinenkugel's beer. Poured me 12 ounces of Canoe Paddler and topped with 3 ounces of Wick's Red Beer Blend (someone informed me on Facebook that it is called a Red Snapper. But what I call A Red Snapper is swapping out the Vodka for Gin). I can honestly say I could get used to this concoction. Cheers!






I would like to thank Wick's for making a truly great mix. And for letting me review their product. They have a good thing going and I look forward to seeing them grow. Please click on their link below and tell them That Bloody Mary Guy sent ya!




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page